Running in the Rain!!

I think this is the dryest summer that I can remember.     I’m not sure of the exact statistics but where I live in Grand Rapids it has to be 3 or 4 weeks since we’ve had a drop.   I’m not a farmer, and I’m definitely not a lawn guy so for the most part the lack of rain doesn’t bother me.   In fact I have been enjoying the consecutive sunny days that we’ve had here in West Michigan.   Sooner or later it has to come to an end.

Light rain at Yankee

Today was that day.   I think it started around 2 or 2:30 in the afternoon.  I was still at work when it started coming down and it came down in buckets.   I could hear it inside the building as it hit the metal roof.  I was just telling someone at work that I was planning to run 15 to 20 miles on the North Country Trail.   I couldn’t let the rain put a damper on that.    In fact I started getting excited about running it in the rain.   Remember I like adventure and doing a long run on a trail when it’s overcast and raining is something everybody MUST experience.

The woods can take on a whole new vibe when it’s overcast and rainy.   In fact some of my best runs were in the rain.   I decided that I not only would keep my plans to run but I’d get started early.   I decided work could wait, so I packed up and headed out.   The only change I made to my plans was instead of running the North Country Trail I’d run at Yankee Springs.   Yankee Springs is closer it has a really sweet 14 mile loop.    I’d have to run an out and back on the NCT and as I said before I hate repeating the same trail during the same run.  

Surreal!!

When I got there it was still raining and all I could hear is the rain hitting the leaves of the trees.   It was humid and still in the woods which created a surreal environment.      My run wasn’t fast today but it was pretty awesome and my adventure for the day.   What was you’re adventure??

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

