Lunch Runnin!

I don’t know why but it always seems like summers are the busiest time of year, at work and home.   This year it has been exceptionally busy.      I’ve been working some overtime during the week and sometimes on the weekend.      Typically when life gets crazy I’ll have to sacrifice something and usually It’s my running or working out.     It doesn’t make sense because running and working out are the best stress relievers ever and it levels me out.      It’s been the same cycle for years, I’ll get busy slow down on working out, gain weight, get out of shape some then beat myself up when I feel bad trying to get back into shape.   

This year I’ve decided to stop the cycle.   I’m going to simplify.    I’m getting rid of clutter, giving up some of my hobbies, saying no more often and focussing on what I truly enjoy.    I’m going to keep my bike because I really enjoy biking and adventure but one of my greatest passions is running.      My focus this year is to drop some weight and get back to the basics of running.   

Carrying extra weight can really make running hard work and a chore at times.  Inversely, carrying less weight can make running easier, more enjoyable and even a spiritual experience that keeps you craving for more.    It’s been quite a few years since I’ve been in that place or zone.    I can remember the days when I was 165 lbs and waking up and running 10 miles in the morning seemed natural.    The only reason I wouldn’t run farther is because I’d have to get to work.    When at work I couldn’t wait to get out and run a few more miles.      In the last 5 or 10 years I’ve convinced  myself that I’m older and those days of free-spirited running are coming to an end.     I think that until I will go to a race or I’m out on a training run and I see guys that are in their 70’s or 80’s and still running a pace not much slower than me or sometimes faster.    That’s why this year I’ve made up my mind to stop making excuses and get busy running.

One thing that I’ve learned over the years is that the earlier in the day I run the better I feel.    Running first thing in the morning is good because that’s when I have the good energy and I feel fresh.   The morning is the time of day that I can get my thoughts together and do some of my best thinking.     The only problem with running in the mornings  is that when I work a long day I might hit a wall around 2 or 3 in the afternoon.   Mornings are also a great time to do some yoga, meditation, and even reading.      I still feel refreshed when I get to work but I’m not tired.   I think one thing that’s changed now that I’m older is that I enjoy starting the day out slower and running at lunchtime.   

Running at lunchtime has many benefits.   It  breaks up the day and allows me to clear the mind,  get the blood flowing, relieves some stress, and curbs the appetite.    When I get done running I don’t feel quite as hungry and more importantly I crave something healthy.   Instead of that piece of pizza or sandwich I’ll go for some rice and veggies and maybe a small piece of fish or even a bowl of soup and some fruit.    I  feel energized for the entire afternoon and I don’t hit that wall nearly as often.   It’s a good cycle to start.   I’ve already lost some weight, 8 lbs to be exact and my running is feeling stronger.      With the exception of a few days here and there I’m starting to really look forward to lunchtime for my run!!

I’m making running my Lunch adventure, what is your lunch adventure!!

JJ

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

